bazaarhasem.blogg.se

Pro tools first or ableton live lite
Pro tools first or ableton live lite













  1. PRO TOOLS FIRST OR ABLETON LIVE LITE MANUAL
  2. PRO TOOLS FIRST OR ABLETON LIVE LITE PRO

Another biggie. For mixing, I get anywhere between 15–50 stems.

PRO TOOLS FIRST OR ABLETON LIVE LITE MANUAL

TBH this alone is almost a selling point for me as I don’t have to go and do manual chopping to the stems I receive. When a client sends you loads of tracks, it really makes viewing the project much lighter when what you see is what you hear and when (not seeing silent parts at all).

pro tools first or ableton live lite

What this does is it chops off the silent parts of clips. Now this is a HUGE factor for me because I do mixing for clients, and I always end up doing some housekeeping first so that I’m only seeing a clip if there is audio on a track – as opposed to seeing all tracks in equal length even when a clip is silent (every now and then, a client asks me to “turn up the swoosh that only happens once, around 3:41 mark”, and looking for it can be a bit painful when you have 30+ tracks of equal length, not giving you quick visual clues as to where that little swoosh might be). At some point I went thru the trouble of actually listing all my plugins in categories on notepad so I’d take a look at it every time I wanted a saturator, for example, to see my saturation options. You automatically get lists for EQ, dynamics, harmonics…this is super handy. Been craving for this for so long: seeing relevant plugins in categories.

PRO TOOLS FIRST OR ABLETON LIVE LITE PRO

WHAT’S GREAT ABOUT PRO TOOLS FOR ME Plugin groups I’ll list the points in two groups: pros and cons (about Pro Tools as opposed to Live). Without further ado, I’ll cut to the chase. *I do not have a point – this is all just a “how I’m feeling about Pro Tools after having used Ableton Live daily for so many years” type of post* Mixing and mastering is my job, and I make a lot of music, so those things do matter, and this is mostly written from that perspective. I think now, after a few days of using PT, is the perfect time to write about my first impressions because, to be honest, the list I’ve been quickly compiling in my notepad would grow to quite a length in a month.Īnother thing I need to emphasize here is that some of the points I make may appear really irrelevant and minor to some, but please keep in mind that the small things or annoyances may be huge to those who work with audio every single day, handling multiple projects, always facing the limitations etc., which do end up getting annoying in the long run.

pro tools first or ableton live lite

By now, I’ve mastered around ten songs in PT after having set up my mastering chain in it, and I’ve done some mixing, too. I’d proudly call myself an Ableton Live expert, but I’m a Pro Tools newbie. I’d like to emphasize that this post is not trying to be an exhaustive feature list or such in any ways – after all, I’ve only had PT on my hard drive for around a week. I didn’t want to go super deep, but just make notes of all “Ah this is great!” or “This sucks” moments. I felt it might be interesting to jot down points about the differences between Live and PT as I go – as well as some shortcomings of both (to this day, a perfect DAW probably does not exist). I ended up liking it, and prior to writing this, I put an order in, which means I’ll definitely be using it alongside Live. Why? I had heard a lot of good about it in terms of its editing and mixing capabilities that’s my job and that’s what I do a lot on my freetime as well, so I wanted to check PT out. Having been an Ableton Live user for so many years, I recently gave Pro Tools a shot. LATER EDIT: I dropped using Pro Tools for good and am now doing everything in Ableton Live.















Pro tools first or ableton live lite